Book Awards

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

2014 Pulitzer Prize Winners

Fiction The Goldfinch By Donna Tartt A young boy in New York City, Theo Decker, miraculously survives an accident that takes the life of his mother. Alone and abandoned by his father, Theo is taken in by a friend’s family and struggles to make sense of his new life. In the years that follow, he […]

Michigan Notable Book Seal thumbnail

Michigan Notable Books 2014

Every year, the Library of Michigan selects up to twenty of the most notable books, either written by a Michigan resident or about Michigan or the Great Lakes.  Each selected title speaks to our state’s rich cultural, historical, and literary heritage and proves without a doubt that some of the greatest stories are found in […]

The Good Lord Bird by James McBride

2013 National Book Award Winners

The National Book Foundation has announced this year’s winners of the National Book Award for Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. Fiction The Good Lord Bird By James McBride Fleeing his violent master at the side of abolitionist John Brown at the height of the slavery debate in mid-nineteenth-century Kansas Territory, Henry pretends to […]

The Drowing Girl Cover Image

Stoker Award for Horror

The Horror Writers Association chose a historic hotel in the haunted city of New Orleans to announce the winners of the 2012 Bram Stoker Awards.  See the complete list of winners. [catlink type=”TI_AU” author=”kiernan+caitlin” title=”drowning+girl”]The Drowning Girl[/catlink] By [catlink type=”author” term=”kiernan+caitlin”]Caitlin R. Kiernan[/catlink] Imp, a struggling schizophrenic, fights to determine whether or not the strange […]

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

2013 Audie Award Winners

Looking for something to pass the time during a long commute or while you’re out for a walk?  You’re in luck.  June is Audiobook Month and the Audio Publishers Association recently announced the winners of this year’s Audie Awards recognizing distinction in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment.  You can see the complete list of Finalists […]

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson

2012 Nebula Award Winner

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America announced this year Nebula Award winning novel is 2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson. 2013 By Kim Stanley Robinson A tale set in a technologically sophisticated solar system three hundred years in the future follows the experiences of former world designer Swan, who in the wake of an […]

The Beautiful Mystery by Louise Penny

2012 Agatha Award Winners

The winners of last year’s Agatha Awards honoring traditional mysteries (no explicit sex; no excessive gore or gratuitous violence; nothing classified as “hard-boiled”) were recently announced on May 5th. Best Novel The Beautiful Mystery By Louise Penny No outsiders are ever admitted to the monastery of Saint-Gilbert-Entre-les-Loups, hidden deep in the wilderness of Quebec, where […]

Live By Night: A Novel by Dennis Lehane

2013 Edgar Award Winners

The Mystery Writers of America have announced this year’s winners of the Edgar Award.  The prize for Best Novel went to Live By Night by Dennis Lehane. You can find other 2013 Edgar Winners here.

The Orphan Master

2013 Pulitzer Prize Winners

Fiction The Orphan Master’s Son By Adam Johnson The Orphan master’s son follows a young man’s journey through the icy waters, dark tunnels, and eerie spy chambers of the world’s most mysterious dictatorship, North Korea. History Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America’s Vietnam By Fredrik Logevall A history […]